The mansion was built in Messaria, in 1888. It belonged to the local landowner and wine merchant George Emm. Argyros.
One of the most noteworthy contemporary monuments of Santorini, it brings together local architecture and eclectic elements.
The ceiling art is quite exquisite. All furniture and utensils have been preserved on the first floor, where visitors can take a walk around. On the ground floor, there is a luxury guesthouse.
The edifice was severely damaged by the earthquake of 1956 and was fully restored with a donation from the Greek Ministry of Culture.
In 1985, it was characterized a "work of art".
In 1997, it won the Europa Nostra award as a Greek cultural heritage site.